June 13, 2023

China, Pakistan and Turkey Eyeing Kashmir

Back to All
by Uzay Bulut, Research Fellow

When India hosted a key G20 conference in Srinagar, the capital of the Jammu and Kashmir Union Territory of India, on May 22 and 23, even though the conference was reportedly attended by around 122 delegates, including 60 foreigners, it was boycotted by Pakistan as well as its longtime allies, China and Turkey.

Pakistan called the meeting “illegal.” Jammu and Kashmir is an integral part of India, but it is claimed by Pakistan, which has violently targeted the region through terror groups. Hundreds of people therefore rallied in the Pakistan-occupied area of Kashmir to protest the meeting.

Three G20 member countries (China, Saudi Arabia and Turkey) as well as two guest-countries invited by India (Egypt and Oman) were among those that did not send delegations. However, three Muslim countries did attend the meeting: Indonesia, United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Bangladesh.